For your convenience we video conference and sign all forms electronically.
Arson is a serious crime in the state of Washington, and the penalties if you are convicted can be severe. Even if no one was hurt in the arson, you can still face significant consequences. If you have been charged with arson in Washington, you need to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you get the charges against you dismissed or the lightest sentence possible to be imposed. It is important for you to meet with an experienced attorney as soon as possible if you are accused of arson if you are to protect your rights and your future.
Possible Penalties For Arson Charges
Arson In The First Degree
- Is charged when the fire is knowingly and maliciously caused within a residence, dwelling or occupied building; the damages due to the fire are in excess of $10,000 and the fire was started to collect on an insurance claim; or the fire is manifestly dangerous to life
- Is usually punished by incarceration for 21 months to life in a Washington state prison and $50,000 in fines
Arson In The Second Degree
- Is charged when the fire is knowingly and maliciously set to cause damage to any building, wharf, machine, dock, engine, motor vehicle, boat, airplane, bridge, crop, timber, fence, or lumber.
- Is punished by incarceration for 3 months to 10 years depending on the perpetrator’s criminal history, and a $20,000 fine.
For both types of arson, the penalties can be increased substantially if serious injuries were caused, if an accelerant or deadly weapon was used, or if the perpetrator has a previous criminal record. Being convicted of arson charges can carry significant fines and prison time. The Law Offices of Greene & Lloyd,PLLC are experienced criminal defense attorneys who know effective tactics that will dismiss or reduce your arson charges. Call for your consultation today.